About Rough Creek Lodge

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FOR HUNTERS!

Anyone interested in participating in a hunting event must follow the State of Texas laws and Rough Creek Lodge Policies. Please click the link below to learn details before you arrive for the Delek Tournament for Hope.

Hunting License Information & Policies

Hunting License Information – State of Texas

  • Who needs to take Hunter Education? Every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born on or after September 2, 1971, must successfully complete a Hunter Education Training Course. Minimum age of certification is 9 years and cost is $15.00. If you were born on or after September 2, 1971 and you are:
    • Under 9 years of age, you must be accompanied*.
    • Age 9 through 16, you must successfully complete a hunter education course, OR you must be accompanied.
    • Age 17 and over, you must successfully complete a hunter education course; or purchase a “Hunter Education Deferral”, and you must be
  • *What does “accompanied” mean? Accompanied means: By a person who is at least 17, who is licensed to hunt in Texas, who has passed hunter education OR is exempt (born before September 2, 1971), and you must be within normal voice control. tpwd.state.tx.us/licenses/online_sales
  • For every hunter – Texas resident you will need a General Hunting License #101 and an Upland Bird Stamp #167. Non-resident will need a 5-day special hunting license #157 and an upland bird stamp #167.
  • For Every hunter that is hunting Turkey, Duck, Varmints or Hogs will need a General Hunting License or the Non-Resident 5 day
  • For Ducks, you will also need a Federal Duck
  • You can go to any store that sells hunting licenses such as Wal-Mart, Academy, Dick’s, etc. If you buy a Super Combo you will not need any endorsements but will still need a Federal Duck Stamp if hunting Ducks.

 

Rough Creek Hunting Policy

  • All hunters 17 years and older must have a valid Texas Hunting License. Any hunter born after September 2, 1971 must carry a valid Texas Hunters Education
  • Rough Creek Lodge Hunting Guides are in charge of the hunts they are assigned to and their safety decisions during a hunt are A Guide can terminate the hunt if he has determined it to be unsafe.
  • Only 2 hunters/shooters on the ground at one time during a hunt. If the Guide allows a Guest to walk along during the hunt, it’s the Guides responsibility to keep them safe. Rough Creek Lodge policy is to direct the other hunters/riders to stay on-in the truck for their own 1)safety 2) it’s  company policy  that if a guest leaves the truck for any reason the Guide must stop the hunt. 3) Its an Insurance
  • Non-hunters riding along on a hunt are not allowed to walk away from the hunt
  • Riders must stay within 10 feet of hunt truck at all times for their own safety, no
  • We recommend no more than 6 people on a truck. Non-hunters under the age of 17 years old must be supervised by a parent or guardian 17 years or older while on the truck. Children are not to be left alone on a hunting
  • 12 year olds or younger are not allowed to hunt at Rough Creek
  • 13-16 year olds must have a valid Texas Hunting License and carry a valid Texas Hunters Education An “Instructional 2.5 hour Bird Hunt” will be offered to assess the youth’s attitude, skills and knowledge of hunting and safety requirements. Repeat youth hunters will be assessed by the Guide on a case by case basis.
  • Parents are never allowed to take the place of a Rough Creek Lodge Hunting Guide. If there are 2 youths that want to hunt at the same time with a parent involved, a second Guide will be assigned to that hunt for an additional $250.
  • Guides and Hunters must wear orange caps, vests and protective eyewear during all bird hunts. No exceptions.
Visit www.roughcreek.com to learn all the great things Rough Creek Lodge has to offer!

 

June 11-13, 2019

September 24-26, 2019

November 19-21, 2019